Home / Sports / Hamilton on pole for Malaysian Grand Prix

Hamilton on pole for Malaysian Grand Prix

SEPANG: World championship leader Lewis Hamilton will start from pole position for the Malaysian Grand Prix with title rival Sebastian Vettel at the back of the grid.

Hamilton had been off the pace all weekend in practice but his Mercedes team turned it around in qualifying to head Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen and the Red Bull of Max Verstappen.

Vettel failed to set a time in the first qualifying session after an engine failure and was relegated to last on the grid. -AFP


Results from qualifying for the Malaysian Grand Prix on Saturday (Q = qualified).


1. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Mercedes 1:30.803 (Q),

2. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:30.926 (Q),

3. Max Verstappen (NED) Red Bull 1:30.931 (Q),

4. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:30.977 (Q),

5. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull 1:31.061 (Q),

6. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India 1:31.484 (Q),

7. Esteban Ocon (FRA) Force India 1:31.651 (Q),

8. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Renault 1:31.778 (Q),

9. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) McLaren 1:31.848 (Q),

10. Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren 1:32.010 (Q),

11. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams 1:32.034,

12. Jolyon Palmer (GBR) Renault 1:32.100,

13. Lance Stroll (CAN) Williams 1:32.307,

14. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso 1:32.402,

15. Pierre Gasly (FRA) Toro Rosso 1:32.558



1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:31.605 (Q),

2. Max Verstappen (NED) Red Bull 1:31.920 (Q),

3. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Mercedes 1:32.254 (Q),

4. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:32.259 (Q),

5. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams 1:32.267 (Q),

6. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull 1:32.416 (Q),

7. Esteban Ocon (FRA) Force India 1:32.527 (Q),

8. Pierre Gasly (FRA) Toro Rosso 1:32.547 (Q),

9. Jolyon Palmer (GBR) Renault 1:32.576 (Q),

10. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Renault 1:32.586 (Q),

11. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso 1:32.650 (Q),

12. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India 1:32.768 (Q),

13. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) McLaren 1:32.838 (Q),

14. Lance Stroll (CAN) Williams 1:33.000 (Q),

15. Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren 1:33.049 (Q),

16. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Haas 1:33.308,

17. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Haas 1:33.434,

18. Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Sauber 1:33.483,

19. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber 1:33.970,

20. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 0.000


Related stories:

Vettel to start last at Malaysian GP

Hamilton struggles again as Raikkonen quickest

Check Also

Kagawa's record goal gives Dortmund win at Augsburg

BERLIN (Reuters) – Shinji Kagawa became the top Japanese scorer of all time in the …